Feb 05

Security and Privacy in Healthcare IT Special track in The 26th International Symposium on Computer-Based Medical System

Dear all, the paper submission deadline of CBMS 2013 was extended
along with its special tracks. Therefore the new deadline for paper
submission of SPH2013 (a special track of the CBMS 2013) was also
extended to February 21st.

Security and Privacy in Healthcare IT Special track in
The 26th International Symposium on Computer-Based Medical System;
June 20-22, Porto, Portugal.

Paper submission February 21, 2013 at:

Notification of acceptance March 31, 2013

Camera-ready and registration April 24, 2013

Special track website: http://www.dcc.fc.up.pt/sph.cbms2013/
Email: sph.cbms2013@dcc.fc.up.pt

Call for papers:

We are currently witnessing a rapidly moving transition trend towards
electronic healthcare information systems. They have already proved
to be essential tools in order to improve the management and quality
of healthcare services. More recently, these systems have also
started to promote great results on the improvement of patients’
health by enabling the creation of much more flexible, efficient and
interoperable means by which practitioners and even patients can have
access and manage healthcare data. However very complex technical
challenges resulting from strict but necessary highly regulated
environments, threats to patient safety, privacy, and security must
be tackled and solved before we can safely have valuable and
sensitive patients’ data being securely managed and used in much more
flexible and potentially useful ways. Towards this end it is thus
imperative to develop innovative methods and policies that ensure the
secure acquisition and management of healthcare data, at the same
time promoting its interoperability, its’ sharing, and its integrity
and confidentiality in highly effective and secure ways.

This special track focuses on original unpublished research on
innovative methods, policies and concerns that can constitute the
right building blocks for a new generation of electronic healthcare
information systems that are at the same time more efficient,
empowering and secure. So, it is expected novel articles about
privacy, security, accountability and auditing for the healthcare
sector. This special track also pretends to encourage the research
dissemination to the stakeholders involved in healthcare information
technologies, promoting the discussion on issues, challenges and
solutions that are currently being developed all around the world.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Access control and consent management models;
* Authentication and identification concepts;
* Security and privacy concerns in healthcare;
* Biometrics in healthcare;
* Health data protection;
* Policy and Legal aspects of regulating privacy of health data;
* Healthcare in cloud computing;
* Mobile devices and their use in healthcare information systems;
* Patient empowerment;
* Personal health records;
* Usability and human factors;

The most relevant articles will be invited to submit an extended
version on the Journal of Health, Policy and Technology published by

Each contribution must be prepared following the IEEE two-column
format, and should not exceed the length of six Letter-sized pages;
the authors may use LaTeX or Microsoft Word templates when preparing
their drafts. The papers should be submitted electronically before
the paper submission deadline using the EasyChair online submission
system. Papers must be submitted in PDF format, with fonts embedded.

All submissions will be peer-reviewed by at least two reviewers. The
SPH2013 program committee will be responsible for the final decision
about acceptance of articles submitted. All accepted papers will be
included in the conference proceedings, and will be published by the
IEEE. At least one author must pay the registration fee for each
accepted paper. Please refer to the IEEE IPR guidelines concerning
copyright. Authors of accepted papers must include a completed IEEE
Copyright Form with the submission of their final camera-ready paper.

– – – – – – – – — Track Chairs —

* Manuel Eduardo Correia,
Faculty of Sciences of University of Porto (FCUP)

* Luis Filipe Antunes,
Faculty of Sciences of University of Porto (FCUP)

* Ana Margarida Ferreira,
SnT research centre of University of Luxembourg

* Cátia Santos Pereira,
Faculty of Medicine of University of Porto (FMUP)

* Alexandre Barbosa Augusto,
Faculty of Sciences of University of Porto (FCUP)

– – – – – – – – — Program Committee —

Alexander Hörbst,
The Health & Life Sciences University,

Andreas Pashalidis,
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven,

Carla Simone,
Fac. di scienze mat. fis. e naturali, University of

Carlos Ribeiro,
Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa,

David Chadwick,
School of Computing, University of Kent,
United Kingdom.

Elske Ammenwerth,
University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and

Francesco Pinciroli,
Dipartimento di Bioingegneria, Politecnico di Milano,

Frédéric Cuppens,
Dépt. Réseaux et Services Multimédias, l’ENST-Bretagne,

Gabriele Lenzini,
SnT research centre of University of Luxembourg,

Gansen Zhao,
Sun Yat-sen University,

Gianluigi Me,
Computer Engineering Faculty, Università di Roma,

Guillermo Navarro-Arribas,
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona,

Henrique Santos,
Universidade do Minho,

Isaac Agudo,
Computer Science Department, University of Malaga,

Jonathan Fistein,
Member of the British Computer Society,
United Kingdom.

John Mantas
University of Athens,

Kambiz Ghazinour,
University of Ottawa,

Lenka Lhotská,
Faculty of Electrical Eng., Czech Technical University,
Czech Republic.

Maria João Campos,

Maria Hägglund,
Karolinska Institutet Health Informatics Centre,

Miria Koshy,
Warwick Business School,
United Kingdom.

Olivier Markowitch,
Computer Sciences Department of the Université
Libre de Bruxelles,

Panagiotis Bamidis,
Medical School, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki,

Peter Pharow,
Fraunhofer IDMT,

Pierangela Samarati,
Dpt. of Computer Science, Università degli Studi di Milano,

Sergi Robles,
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona,

Simão Melo de Sousa,
Dep. de Informática, Universidade da Beira Interior,

Steven Furnell,
Faculty of Science and Technology, Plymouth University,
United Kingdom.

Vivian Vimarlund,
Dept. of Computer and Inf. Science, Linköping University,