Aug 14

UDD 2012 : Special Session on Undesirable Data Detection

 

UDD 2012 : Special Session on Undesirable Data Detection

Link: http://www.mirlabs.net/ias12/ss1.html
When Nov 21, 2012 – Nov 23, 2012
Where São Carlos, Brazil
Submission Deadline Aug 15, 2012
Notification Due Sep 15, 2012
Final Version Due Sep 30, 2012
Categories    undesirable data detection   security

Call For Papers

Call for Papers of the Special Session on
Undesirable Data Detection — UDD 2012

Under the framework of the 8th International Conference on Information Assurance and Security (IAS 2012), 21-23 November 2012 in São Carlos, Brazil

Objectives
In recent years, research in the area of ICT security grows rapidly, mainly thanks to growing number of security threats arising internally or externally. Undesirable behavior comprising any intentionally or unintentionally misuse of resources in information systems produces growing quantity of new undesirable data every day. Undesirable Data Detection (http://www.mirlabs.net/ias12/ss1.html) Special Session aims at presenting novel approaches for evaluating or detecting potentially malicious activity threatening the security of ICT.
The special session seeks contributions about foundations of undesirable data detection as well as case studies, empirical, and other methodological works. It will provide an opportunity to disseminate latest results in this important field.
This section is focused on mining or detection of the undesirable data (such as spam emails and other unsolicited message in any communication system) and on its optimization for all possible aspects of security. Moreover, the session focuses on engines for Intrusion Detection Systems detection based on rules and on data elaboration, with special care of solution able to support data parallelization and GPU computing. Last but not least the special session aims at collecting case studies and real application of Undesirable data detection.

Specific topics of interest
The preferred topics for this special session are (but not limited to):
• Detection techniques and Methodologies
o Spam detection
o Intrusion detection
o Similarity detection
o Plagiarism detection
o Dangerous patterns in data streams
o Steganography detection
• Detection Techniques Application
o Scalable IDs architecture
o GPU and parallel Computing for Undesirable Data and Intrusion Detection
• Intrusion and Undesirable Data Detection Case Studies
o Detection in network systems
o Intrusion Detection in Cloud systems
o Industrial and real case studies

Submission
Special Session paper submission will be done through IAS 2012 submission system and been evaluated with the same standard as the regular conference paper. All accepted papers will be included in the IAS 2012 conference proceedings.
Papers must be submitted within the stipulated time and electronic submission in PDF is required. A full paper (6 pages, A4 size) for oral presentation should in the IEEE 8.5 two-column format. Papers should contain up to 5 keywords. Papers will be evaluated for originality, significance, clarity, and soundness, and will be reviewed by at least three independent reviewers.

Details are available at the conference website http://www.mirlabs.net/ias12/. Submit your paper at the submission site https://www.easychair.org/account/signin.cgi?conf=ias12.

Program Chair
Vaclav Snášel, Department of Computer Science, VSB – Technical University of Ostrava, vaclav.snasel@vsb.cz

Session Coordinators
Eliška Ochodková, eliska.ochodkova@vsb.cz
Pavel Krömer, pavel.kromer@vsb.cz

Program committee
Vaclav Snasel, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, vaclav.snasel@vsb.cz
Milos Kudelka, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, milos.kudelka@vsb.cz
Pavel Kromer, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, pavel.kromer@vsb.cz
Jan Platos, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, jan.platos@vsb.cz
Pavel Moravec, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, pavel.moravec@vsb.cz
Petr Gajdos, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, petr.gajdos@vsb.cz
Jan Martinovic, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, jan.martinovic@vsb.cz
Petr Musilek, University of Alberta, Canada, musilek@ece.ualberta.ca
Suhail S. Owais, AL-Balaqa University, Jordan, suhailowais@yahoo.com
Hideyasu Sasaki, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, hsasaki@uchicago.edu
Juan D. Velasquez, University of Chile, Santiago, Chile, juansensei@gmail.com
Miroslav Voznak, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic, miroslav.voznak@vsb.cz

UDD 2012 : Special Session on Undesirable Data Detection.