Apr 22

9th Workshop on Fault Diagnosis and Tolerance in Cryptography

FDTC 2012: Call for Papers

The 9th Workshop on Fault Diagnosis and Tolerance in Cryptography (FDTC
2012) will be held in Leuven, Belgium, on September 9, 2012. FDTC 2012
is one day before CHES 2012 (September 10-12, 2012). This Call for
Papers is also available for download as a PDF file

Motivation & Scope

Fault injection is one of the most exploited means for extracting
confidential information from embedded devices or for compromising their
intended behavior. Research is therefore needed to develop methodologies
and techniques for designing robust cryptographic systems (both hardware
and software), and to protect them against both accidental faults and
intentional intrusions and attacks. Of particular interest is protection
against malicious injection of faults into the device for the purpose of
extracting confidential information.
FDTC is the reference event in the field of fault analysis, attacks and

Important dates

Paper submission deadline:    May 10, 2012, 23:59 UTC
Notification of acceptance:  June 18, 2012
Final version deadline:       July 2, 2012
Workshop:                September 9, 2012

Paper submission

Contributions to the workshop describing theoretical studies and
practical case studies of fault diagnosis and tolerance in cryptographic
systems (HW and SW) and protocols are solicited. Topics of interest
include, but are not limited to:

– modelling the reliability of cryptographic systems and protocols
– inherently reliable cryptographic systems and algorithms
– faults and fault models for cryptographic devices (HW and SW)
– novel fault diagnosis and tolerance techniques for cryptographic systems
– attacks exploiting micro-architecture components
– physical protection against attacks
– fault attacks using lasers, electromagnetic induction, and clock /
power supply manipulation
– case studies of attacks, reliability, and fault diagnosis and
tolerance techniques in cryptographic systems
– combined attacks
– fault injection: mechanisms, models and countermeasures
– fault exploitation: analysis, attacks and countermeasures
– fault resistant hardware, fault resistant implementations of
cryptographic algorithms and fault resistant protocols

All submissions should be made using the online submission system:


Submissions should conform to the instructions below.

Instructions for authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the
authors have published elsewhere or that have been submitted in parallel
in any other conference or workshop. Submissions should be anonymous,
with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements or obvious
references. Papers should be at most 10 pages (including the
bibliography and appendices), with at least 11pt font and reasonable

Submission of final papers will be managed directly by Conference
Publishing Services (CPS). Final papers must be formatted following the
instructions in the related author kit (to be communicated). Conference
Publishing Services (CPS) will contact directly the authors for
instructions and will send links to the publishing services.

Accepted papers will be published in an archival proceedings volume by
Conference Publishing Services (CPS) and will be distributed at the time
of the workshop.

At least one author of each accepted paper must register with the
workshop and present the paper in order to be included in the proceedings.

Program committee

Alessandro Barenghi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Guido Bertoni, STMicroelectornics, Italy (co-chair)
Christophe Clavier, University of Limoges, France
Wieland Fischer, Infineon Technologies, Germany
Benedikt Gierlichs, KU Leuven, Belgium (co-chair)
Christophe Giraud, Oberthur Technologies, France
Jorge Guarjardo, Bosch, USA
Sylvain Guilley, Telecom ParisTech, France
Helena Handschuh, Intrinsic-ID Inc., USA
Dusko Karaklajic, KU Leuven, Belgium
Kerstin Lemke-Rust, HBRS, Germany
Marcel Medwed, UCL Crypto Group, Belgium
Debdeep Mukhopadhyay, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Matthieu Rivain, CryptoExperts, France
Jörn-Marc Schmidt, TU Graz, Austria
Sergei Skorobogatov, University of Cambridge, UK
Junko Takahashi, NTT Corporation, Japan
Michael Tunstall, University of Bristol, UK
Marc Witteman, Riscure, The Netherlands

Contact with the PC co-chairs is pc2012@fdtc-workshop.eu

Steering committee

Luca Breveglieri, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Israel Koren, University of Massachusetts, USA
David Naccache (chair), Ecole Normale Supérieure, France
Jean-Pierre Seifert, TU Berlin & T-Labs, Germany

FDTC 2012 is in cooperation with IACR – http://www.iacr.org