Mar 28

Eight Conference on Security and Cryptography for Networks

SCN 2012

Eight Conference on Security and Cryptography for Networks

September 5-7, 2012, Amalfi, Italy

The Eight Conference on Security and Cryptography for Networks
(SCN 2012) aims at bringing together researchers in the field of
cryptography and information security, practitioners, developers,
and users to foster cooperation, exchange techniques, tools,
experiences and ideas. The conference seeks submissions from
academia, government, and industry presenting novel research on
all practical and theoretical aspects of cryptography and
information security.

The primary focus is on original, high quality, unpublished
research of theoretical and practical impact, including concepts,
techniques, applications and practical experiences.

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that
have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a
conference/workshop with proceedings or a journal.

All topic areas related to cryptography and information security
are of interest and in scope.  Suggested  topics include but are
not restricted to:

Anonymity and Privacy
Applied Cryptography and Implementations
Authentication, Identification and Access Control
Block and Stream Ciphers
Complexity-Theoretic Cryptography
Cloud Computing Security
Cryptographic Hash Functions
Cryptographic and Security Protocols
Digital Signatures and Message Authentication Codes
Distributed Systems Security
Formal Security Methods
Information-Theoretic Security
Network, Web and Wireless Security
Public-Key Encryption
Physical Cryptography
Security Architectures and Models
Software and Systems Security

Authors are invited to submit electronically (PDF format) a
non-anonymous extended abstract. The extended abstract should be
typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a single-column,
single-spacing format reasonable margins all around. Submissions
deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection
without consideration of their merits.

All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only
be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees.

The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names,
affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short
abstract. The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages
excluding the title page, bibliography and appendices. The
extended abstract should clearly indicate the results achieved,
their significance, and their relation to other work in the area.
Referees are not required to read appendices; the paper should be
intelligible without them. Submissions must not substantially
duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of
the authors has submitted in parallel to a journal or to any
other conference or workshop with proceedings.

Best Paper Award
All submissions are eligible for the Best Paper award. The
committee may decide to split the award between multiple papers,
or to decline to make an award.

Proceedings are expected to be published by Springer in the
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.  Selected
papers from the conference will be invited to a special issue of
the Journal of Computer Security.

Dates and Deadlines
Submission: 10PM PST, May 3, 2012
Notification to authors: June 15, 2012
Camera-Ready Version: June 27, 2012
Conference: September 5-7, 2012

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will
be presented at the conference.

Program Chair
Ivan Visconti, University of Salerno, Italy

Program Committee
Masayuki Abe, NTT, Japan
Amos Beimel, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Carlo Blundo, University of Salerno, Italy
Alexandra Boldyreva, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Xavier Boyen, PARC, USA
Dario Catalano, University of Catania, Italy
Melissa Chase, Microsoft Research Redmond, USA
Dana Dachman-Soled, Microsoft Research New England, USA
Stefan Dziembowski, University of Warsaw, Poland and Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Pierre-Alain Fouque, ENS, France
Juan Garay, AT&T Labs-Research, USA
Vipul Goyal, Microsoft Research, India
Brett Hemenway, University of Michigan, USA
Martin Hirt, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Dennis Hofheinz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Stanislaw Jarecki, UCI, USA
Gregory Neven, IBM Research, Switzerland
Carles Padro, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Benny Pinkas, Bar Ilan University, Israel, and Google, USA
Bart Preneel, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Matt Robshaw, Orange Labs, France
Alon Rosen, IDC Herzliya, Israel
abhi shelat, University of Virginia, USA
Francois-Xavier Standaert, UCL, Belgium
Dominique Unruh, University of Tartu, Estonia
Bogdan Warinschi, University of Bristol, UK
Daniel Wichs, IBM Research T.J. Watson, USA
Moti Yung, Google, USA

General Chair
Roberto De Prisco, University of Salerno, Italy

Local Organization
Aniello Castiglione, University of Salerno, Italy
Paolo D’Arco, University of Salerno, Italy

Steering Committee
Carlo Blundo, University of Salerno, Italy
Alfredo De Santis, University di Salerno, Italy
Ueli Maurer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Rafail Ostrovsky, UCLA, USA
Giuseppe Persiano, University of Salerno, Italy
Jacques Stern, ENS, France
Douglas Stinson, University of Waterloo, Canada
Gene Tsudik, University of California – Irvine , USA
Moti Yung, Google Inc. and Columbia University, USA