Feb 16

PROOFS: Security Proofs for Embedded Systems

PROOFS: Security Proofs for Embedded Systems


Call for papers: http://www.proofs-workshop.org/PROOFS_cfp.pdf

Goal of the Workshop:

The goal of the PROOFS workshop is to promote methodologies that increase the confidence level in the security of embedded systems, especially those that contain cryptographic mechanisms. Embedded system security currently consists mainly in security by obscurity solutions. This has obvious drawbacks: it requires costly black-box evaluation, there is no certainty about the correctness of the security, etc. Formal methods allow to increase the trust level of digital systems. They are very appealing, for the following reasons: they are mature in theory, and there are tried and tested methods and tools, they have been applied on software for a long time, mainly for safety and conformance tests. Some important security features (random number generation, physically unclonable functions, etc.) rely on analog devices. Their correct functioning can be ascertained by techniques such as physical modeling and unitary experimental testing. An important objective for the PROOFS workshop is to bridge the gap between both topics, and therefore to pave the way to « security by clarity » for embedded systems.

Venue: PROOFS will take place at Leuven, Belgium, on September 13rd, 2012.

The workshop will feature two/three invited talks and contributed talks.

The agenda is:

Diffusion of the CfP: Thursday February 16th
Submission deadline: Sunday May 6th
Authors notification: Sunday July 1st
Final version due: Sunday July 15th
PROOFS workshop venue: Thursday September 13rd

Programme Committee
Alessandro Barenghi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy.
Gilles Barthe, Fundación IMDEA Software, Spain.
Loïc Correnson, CEA LIST, France.
Emmanuelle Encrenaz, LIP6, France.
Éliane Jaulmes, ANSSI, France.
Naofumi Homma, Tohoku U., Japan.
Debdeep Mukhopadhyay, IIT Kharagpur, India.
Svetla Nikova, K.U.Leuven, Belgium.
Renaud Pacalet, TELECOM-ParisTech, France.
Bruno Robisson, ENSMSE, France.
Graham Steel, LSV, France.

Steering committee
Sylvain Guilley, TELECOM-ParisTech, France.
David Naccache, ENS, France.
Akashi Satoh, AIST, Japan.
Werner Schindler, BSI, Germany.